Chill Russell to release second single “Hold On” with new EP “Soak Up the Sound”

Chill Russell to release second single
“Hold On”
with new EP
Soak Up the Sound

Forged in the Austin, Texas music scene, alternative rock band Chill Russell feel like they’re just getting started. Made up of Chase Matkin (vocals, guitar), Daniel Ducloux (vocals, bass), and Patrick Barrow (drums), the trio is releasing their new EP Soak Up the Sound on Friday, August 21st, which includes the new single “Hold On”.

Longtime practitioners of the indie DIY method of recording, the band recruited Chris “Frenchie” Smith (Jet, The Toadies, …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead) to produce their EP. Smith approached recording sessions at his studio, The Bubble, by using all tools available to carve out their unique aesthetic, and sought to bring the band’s vision of a “wall of sound” to life. The result is an album that showcases the musical progression of Chill Russell, and a preview of what’s ahead for the group.

Although written before the pandemic, Soak Up the Sound developed into somewhat of a statement about current events and a guide for those who must endure it. “Hold On” is a mantra for anyone who is struggling to cope with trials that unfold in their life, and a plea for all to persevere despite the circumstances.

Previous Press:

“Austin dual-vocalled blues rockers Chill Russell are, well, anything but. Their psych- inflected sound might owe nods to The Beach Boys and The Strokes, but in truth, they’re not a million miles away from chart-bothering beasts The Black Keys.”

DIY Magazine

“Their affection for the greats of the past is apparent through their fast, loud, and fun dynamic.”

KUTX 98.9

“Chill Russell proved an aptly named outfit to jump-start Empire’s outside showcase, Friday’s frigid temps keeping the crowd intimate as the local quartet powered through last year’s pair of psych-infused EPs.”

Austin Chronicle

Follow Chill Russell: