Dream Nails share “Vagina Police”

Dream Nails Share “Vagina Police

Self-Titled Debut LP Out August 28 On Dine Alone & Alcopop!

“The best DIY all-girl punk queertet since Bikini Kill… patriarchy-crushingly good.”

– i-D

 “…a political push that’ll send any audience member reeling”

– Dazed

“Dream Nails stand for something…a band whose righteous music is rooted in their political beliefs, each show turns into an impromptu protest, a centre for discussion, debate, and movement.”

– Clash

“Count the riot grrrls of Dream Nails amongst the many sorceresses using their magick for the forces of good.”

– Nylon

London punks Dream Nails have been buzzing in the UK for some time and last month announced their signing to Dine Alone for the release of their debut self-titled full length, which will be out August 28th on Dine Alone in North America and UK indie Alcopop! in the rest of World. Today, the band are sharing a new single from the LP entitled “Vagina Police,” along with it accompanying video.

Dream Nails’ drummer Lucy Katz describes the track as,

“our battle-cry against the persistent and pathetic-yet-insidious obsession of the state to police our bodies at any cost. It’s a song about reproductive rights and (in)justice in all its forms.”

Bassist Mimi Jassson elaborates on the ways the establishment tries to police our bodies across the world:

“From abortions being illegal, to forced sterilization of trans people. We stand in solidarity with our trans siblings in the face of the UK’s repression of trans rights.”

The track was originally released by London-based indie Everything Sucks Music but the new version, as will feature on Dream Nails’ forthcoming self-titled debut album, produced by Tarek Musa of Spring King, breathes new vigour into its intent. For the next month, 100% of Dream Nails’ Bandcamp proceeds will be split between Abortion Support Network and Mermaids

Dream Nails self-titled LP is due out August 28th via Dine Alone and Alcopop! Pre-orders for ‘Dream Nails’ are live today and can be found HERE. Physical vinyl bundle includes a 40-page signed zine. In true punk DIY fashion, the zine is handmade by the band, featuring lyrics, articles and background to the songs on the album.

Track list:
1. Affirmations (Skit)
2. Jillian
3. Do You Want To Go To Work (Skit)
4. Corporate Realness
5. Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns) 
6. Women And Non-Binary People To The Front (Skit)
7. Vagina Police
8. DIY
9. People Are Like Cities
10. Swimming Pool
11. This Is The Summer
12. Fighting Tips (Skit)
13. Payback
14. Kiss My Fist

Follow Dream Nails: